Welcome to the Police Records page of our website. The answers to many questions regarding all types of police reports and forms can be found here. Please take a moment to familiarize yourself with the following information and if you have any questions you may contact Susan Colucci.
Motor Vehicle Accident Reports
Accident reports are available no sooner than three business days after the date of the incident. Any delay beyond that time frame may be due to an individual officer’s schedule or the volume of reports at that time. Requests for information contained in an unfinished report cannot be accommodated. Accident reports cannot be faxed. Your available options to obtain an accident report are as follows.
Download via the internet (for reports after January 1, 2011.)
Reports are available to be obtained in person 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The records administrator will assist you during normal business hours and the police dispatcher will be able to help you at all other times. The fee for accident report copies picked up in person is $0.75 per page, payable by cash, check or money order.
Accident Reports by Mail
To have a copy of an accident report mailed to you, print out the Accident Report Request by Mail Form (DOC), complete and return it to this department with the $5 fee.
All report fees are in accordance with NJSA 39:4-131 and 47:1a-2.
Temporary Handicapped Parking Placards:
NJSA 39:4-206 allows the Chief of Police to issue a temporary handicapped parking placard that is valid for a maximum of 6 months. These placards are issued subject to the following stipulations:
- By law, the applicant must be a resident of this municipality.
- The applicant must have temporarily lost the use of one or more limbs or is temporarily disabled as to be unable to ambulate without the aid of an assisting device or be a person whose mobility is otherwise temporarily limited.
- By law, the Chief of Police is not empowered to issue a temporary handicapped placard to a person who is permanently handicapped.
Temporary handicap parking placard applications are available from the Police Desk.
The fee for the placard is $4 if paid by check or money order payable to NJMVC.
Requests for Discovery
Information from the police department needed by defendants and/or their attorneys is available through discovery. New Jersey Court Rules 7:7-7 and 3:13-3 state that all requests for discovery shall be submitted, in writing, directly to the municipal prosecutor.
The prosecutor must respond to such requests within 10 days of their receipt. Discovery requests may be mailed or faxed to:
Pequannock Township Municipal Court
Nicholas A. Galante, Esqurie
530 Newark-Pompton Turnpike
Pompton Plains, NJ 07444
Permit to Carry a Handgun (Updated 7/1/22)
Please refer to the NJSP website for all necessary forms and for detailed instructions about the process to apply for a permit to carry a handgun.
Permit to carry application: Scroll to the "Permit to Carry" section on the page and click the PDF form for S.P. 642. It will allow you to download the PDF or fill it out online. Please follow all directions carefully. Access here.
We are linking you to the New Jersey State Police Website for all forms as they may occasionally update, add or change forms. While we always strive to keep our list of forms and links above updated, NJSP may make changes to the process or forms at any time. Please always check their website for the most up-to-date links and literature.
Effective March 1, 2020
The Pequannock Township Police Department will no longer accept firearms applications in person. All firearms applications must be submitted electronically through the State of New Jersey Firearms Application & Registration System (FARS).
The following website will allow an applicant to apply for the Initial and Duplicate Firearms Purchaser Identification Cards and Permits to Purchase a Handgun.
Please follow the link below to start the application process.
Pequannock Township Police Originating Agency Identification Number (ORI) is NJ0143100.
If you have any questions, please contact Sue at SColucci@peqtwp.org or 973-835-1700 ext 149.
Prior to March 1, 2020
Paper firearm applications will still be accepted prior to March 1, 2020. However, you can begin applying via the online option immediately.
Information regarding the issuance of Firearms Identification Cards, Duplicate Firearms Identification Cards and Permits to Purchase a Handgun are available at the police desk or online at the New Jersey State Police website.
Specific information regarding the fees and requirements may be found by viewing our Firearms Information Guide (PDF).
Fee payments may be made by check or money order only. No cash may be accepted.